Image.jpg
To adopt a lab please fill in the online application 

Contact us at info@lab-rescue.ca for questions or fill out an application to apply to adopt a lab.

 

Abbey

Birthday/age: 4 yrs

Colour: Yellow

Gender: Female

Weight: 55 lbs 

Energy Level: Moderate

Children: Great

Dogs: Good

Cats: Good, lived with one

House Skills: Good

Leash Skills: Good

Car: Good

Fetch: Unknown

Swimming: Loves it

Hi Friends,

My name is Abbey girl and I am 4 years old. My family is experiencing changes in their lives so they are finding it difficult to care for me.

When I was a puppy I broke my shoulder while out with my dog walker, and by the time my parents noticed my limping and the x-rays confirmed it was in fact a broken shoulder, I had already started healing but not fully the way it was supposed to. Therefore, I am arthritic in that shoulder but it does not prevent me from playing, and living life to the fullest. I have no mobility issues but if I play rough or have a big day running around I may limp the next day. 

I have full run of the house, and will easily curl up on my bed during the day when my humans are at work. Although I am not supposed to be on the furniture I do find it quite comfy, and will get super excited if you invite me up to lay with you.

I really enjoy going for walks. I do pull for the first few minutes but settle nicely after a short time. I walk well on both a harness or flat collar. Off leash I am working on my skills. For the most part I am pretty good but will run over to a dog if I see one that wants to play with me.

I am fantastic with people of all ages, and don't need anytime warming up to new faces. I am used to living with two very young children, and enjoyed the attention they gave me. I have also lived with senior cats, and have been respectful to them. This means I don't chase them but will gladly play if they initiate it.

My humans say I travel really well especially if there is a dog bed in the car for me to snuggle up on. I have been to the cottage multiple times with no issues. 

I love squeaky toys and stuffies. I do this thing where I suck on it for comfort...I also enjoy tug of war, swimming, and fetch!

and last by not least...meal time. I have no issues gobbling my food that's for sure. I am gentle taking treats as long as you remind me with the command "easy".

Well folks, that is all for now.

Love, Abbey

Image (1).jpg

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

thumbnail (1).jpg