IMG_0861_edited.jpg
To adopt a lab please fill in the online application 

Contact us at info@lab-rescue.ca for questions or fill out an application to apply to adopt a lab.

 

IMG_0837.JPG
IMG_0876.JPG

Chico

Birthday/age: 5 yrs

Colour: Chocolate

Gender: Male

Weight: 102 lbs (on a weight loss program)

Energy Level: Moderate

Children: No thanks

Dogs: Good, with larger dogs

Cats: No thanks

House Skills: Good

Leash Skills: Pulls at first, walks on a gentle leader

Car: Rides well

Fetch: Unknown

Swimming: Would love to try

Hi friends,

My name is Chico and I am 5 yrs old. Did you know that in Spanish Chico actually means "small boy" and although I am a boy I am anything but small. I am a big, beautiful boy with a ton of love to give. By big I just mean I am a little overweight but I'm working on my figure for my new forever home.

I am sure you want to know about my story, and how I made my way to Lab Rescue. My original owner had me for the majority of my life. See I spent a lot of my time either by myself or at a kennel which is no life for a dog. Eventually, I was given up and adopted by another family and 4 days later I was given back because I nipped. I do grumble when I'm uncomfortable but I am anything but mean.

Medically, I am healthy. The doggy doctor kept saying how good I was. She poked me with all these instruments and needles and after all was said and done I roller over for a belly rub. She said I was one of the sweetest labs she has ever met.

I love car rides and will jump right in and lay down.

I know commands such as sit, lay down and come.

I love to walk and sniff. I get so excited that I do pull but do much better with my gentle leader. Since being with my foster mom I get to go on multiple walks a day and am settling in great. I am fully house trained, and non destructive. I don't have any type of separation anxiety and can be left alone with no issues. Since I love food so much my foster mom has to keep food off her counter because I am smart enough to treat myself to an extra snack if shes not careful.

I am good with dogs and seem to enjoy their company. I have lots of experience as I spent a lot of time at doggy day care. I am better with the larger breeds though. I just seem to enjoy them a little bit more.

With feline friends I do like to chase them so if you do happen to have one I am not the pup for you.

My foster mom is teaching me good behaviour when it comes to my toys. See I can be a little toy possessive so she is working on me dropping my toys by saying "drop" and then puts me in a sit and stay so she can pick them up and throw it again for me. I love fetch and tug of war so we are working lots with my toys so I can become more comfortable.

Overall, I have such a shining personality. If you are looking for a pup to curl up on the couch with and watch a Netflix movie, or a dog that loves to go on adventures then I am definitely your boy.

Love, Chico

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
IMG_0878.JPG