To adopt a lab please fill in the online application 

Contact us at info@lab-rescue.ca for questions or fill out an application to apply to adopt a lab.

 

MOLLY

Birthday/age: 6 yrs

Colour: Black

Gender: Female

Weight: 85 lbs

Energy Level: Moderate

Children: 13+ Please

Dogs: No thanks

Cats: No thanks

House Skills: Good

Leash Skills: Needs training

Car: Good

Fetch: Likes it

Swimming: Would love to try

Hi There!

My name is Molly and I'm a 6 year old black beauty that was surrendered to Lab Rescue through no fault of my own.

 

I was pretty scared to be left at the shelter after my family gave me up and I was really apprehensive at first as I truly did not know what was coming next for me. Because of this, I initially take time to warm up to people.   My new family will need to understand this and take things very slow while I settle and most importantly exercise patience, kindness and love because I am told I warm up quite quickly once I feel safe!  The first days to weeks of any adoption can be stressful for us dogs.   I will likely startle at noises and perhaps be a tad skittish in the beginning, so a secure yard is a must for me.  All I ask is that you open your heart and give me a chance to adjust, of course using positive praise and food rewards.

 

I'm doing fantastic at my foster home.  I sleep through the night on a soft spot and I whine to tell you I need to potty. My house manners are superb.  I love to be brushed and groomed and I enjoy playing with my toys.  I even give them up when you ask! 

I'm looking for a new family who wants to go on fun adventures, long walks, maybe even try swimming and help me master this leash thingy...I lack proper training on leash and need help not to pull.   I was bullied by a big dog who was very mean to me which has caused me to become fearful and reactive to dogs.  I need my new family to work with a professional trainer to improve my leash behaviour.

 

I would like to be the only kid in my new home...fur kid and otherwise....maybe teenagers would be okay as long as I get lots of love and attention to my needs. My exposure to the young ones and to cats are unknown so at this time.  Long car rides to the cottage every weekend would have to be a long term goal for me, if at all.  I'm sure with practice I will improve but every time the car slows I think it's time to jump out and start the fun which makes be very excited and anxious.  I understand Lab Rescue has had other dogs like me and again likely training patience and time would correct this issue.

 

My ideal family would love the outdoors as much as I do...which is a lot! They need to have experience with dogs and plan to work with a trainer to better my leash habits.  I would like a setting where I will not meet or run into many other dogs.  I understand this is not entirely avoidable but a neighbourhood full of dogs is not a good setting for me. Little dogs are not so bad for me but the big ones...forget it!  A quiet serene setting with lots of walks in "safe" places and a large secure area to play is all I can dream of.  If you think you have what it takes to love a girl like me then apply today!

 

Love, Molly

Medical: 

Molly is currently on allergy medication which she will need to continue.

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • w-facebook
  • w-twitter

© Copyright 2020 Labrador Retriever Adoption Service Inc.