To adopt a lab please fill in the online application 

Contact us at for questions or fill out an application to apply to adopt a lab.



Birthday/age: 1.5 yr (Aug 12, 2019)

Colour: Chocolate

Gender: Male

Weight: 70 lbs

Energy Level: High

Children: 12 +

Dogs: Prefer a home without 

Cats: Unknown (Not placing in a home with cats)

House Skills: Fine

Leash Skills: Pulls, will need some guidance

Car: Good

Fetch: Would love to try

Swimming: Would love to try

Hi, it's me Duke, I'm a 1.5 year old chocolate male with handsome good looks.  Now, before you go nuts about how cute I am, please read on, I'm more than a dog standing in front of human, asking them to love him.


My past lacked the things that build the foundation us Labs need from day one but I'm only looking to a better future now.  I'm eager to learn and super food motivated but there are a lot of things that are still very new to me and you need to be prepared for that.   My laid back personality shines once I've completely settled and become accustomed to my surroundings and routine.


You will never need a gym membership with me, in fact I may even be a great jogging buddy!  I love long trail walks every day.   I love to snuggle in the big bed for a good night's sleep with my foster parents.  My new family will need to allow full access to continue without restricting me from these luxuries....after all, I will be a member of your family.   


I walk well with a fancy front-clip harness.  I'm a star pupil in quiet settings which shows so much potential!  When there are more distractions like cars, people and normal life noises, I lose focus and become stressed, lunging at cars and barking.  I'm told this may improve over time with help from a professional trainer to build my confidence.  This is where time, practice and that special trust bond will be very important in taking baby steps to success!  I get excited to meet other dogs...they don't always like my exuberant, extra sniffy welcoming so best that I make friends once I've built a strong bond with my human who can read the situation for me.


It's so important that my new family understand transitioning to a new home is stressful for us Labs, its especially stressful for me.  Sometimes uncharacteristic behaviour presents itself as a response.  Please give us time, as long as it takes....weeks....months.  I have been known to counter surf, inspect the garbage (bathroom), steal Kleenex and put my mouth on things that I shouldn't during my transition period.   See me through it, I will do better.  We've gone through a lot of changes and need patience and respect while you guide us with positive encouragement.


Apply to adopt me, not because of my boyish good looks but because you understand the dedication, perseverance and resources (in the form of a hired trainer) I need be the best version of myself I can be.  I'm quite the character and really fun to have around. I need the right human to trust that you will always have my back.  I would be best suited in a home with a fenced yard, no other furkids and no children.  An experienced Lab parent with a positive reinforcement training background would be ideal, or at least one who will work closely with a trainer.

Love always,


  • Instagram Social Icon
  • w-facebook
  • w-twitter

© Copyright 2020 Labrador Retriever Adoption Service Inc.