maki10.jpeg
To adopt a lab please fill in the online application 

Contact us at info@lab-rescue.ca for questions or fill out an application to apply to adopt a lab.

 

Maki

Birthday/age: 4 yrs

Colour: Black

Gender: Female X

Weight: 90 lbs

Energy Level: Average for age

Children: 12+

Dogs: Good

Cats: No thanks

House Skills: Good

Car: Good

Swimming: Would love to try

Great House Manners

Loves to play Frizbee

Great with people        

Hi Friends,

 

Maki here!  I'm a 4-year-old black, female, lab mix; tall and slender, around 90 lbs.  I've come to Lab Rescue because I injured my knee and needed an expensive surgery to fix it.  Thanks to my new friends at Lab Rescue, their fantastic medical team and my foster, my knee is fixed up and my recovery couldn't be going any better!  Though I'm excited to get back to playing, I must stick to the plan my doggy doctor has laid out for me for rehab but don't worry, we can do a lot of it at home together.

 

My house manners are great and I'm fine being left alone while you work.  At night I sleep on my own bed without a peep. I really hope once I'm cleared to jump that I will have a spot on the "big bed" for night, night snuggles.  I'm such a hoot to watch play with my toys.  It's like I'm in my own little make-believe world tossing them in the air and shaking them up just like a young pup and I truly love them all equally and ensure I play with every single one so no one feels left out.

 

In my past life I went to doggy daycare often and had a blast with other dogs my size.  I'm better suited for big-dog friends as I would chase small animals if I could especially those pesky squirrels.  That reminds me, I should probably have fenced yard at my new home too.   I enjoy a good game of tug and will chase my ball or frisbee endlessly in the yard, when I'm healed that is.

 

I'm manageable on leash even though I'm a big girl myself.  I will pull and bark at other dogs to say hello on walks because I'm excited to meet them but right now I'm taking it easy so haven't made any new friends yet.  I think it would be loads of fun to do a training class with my new family once I'm fully recovered.  I'm super food motivated and will do almost anything for a liver treat and it would be a fun way to make new friends!

 

I take no time at all to warm up to new people and feel it's my duty to meet everyone I pass on a walk including children.  I'd be okay with older children in the home as I would likely knock the wee ones down, but I think we could have a lot of fun together.  

 

My perfect family will be committed to my rehab plan and see me through to days when we can run and hike and even try swimming! I know those days are ahead.  My recovery is going so well, I just need my path to be continued.  If you think you're my match, contact Lab Rescue for more information on my recovery plan.

 

Love Maki

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom