To adopt a lab please fill in the online application 

Contact us at info@lab-rescue.ca for questions or fill out an application to apply to adopt a lab.

 

Roku

Birthday/age: 1.5 yrs

Colour: Yellow

Gender: Male

Weight: 79 lbs

Energy Level: High

Children: Good

Dogs: Good but can be pushy

Cats: Unknown

House Skills: Good

Leash Skills: Good walks on a harness

Car: Working on my manners

Fetch: Loves it

Swimming: Loves it

Hi Friends,

My name is Roku and I am just 1.5 yrs old. I am a very handsome, energetic and playful boy. I was rescued from a shelter at 11 weeks old and had already been returned three times by such a young age. I am coming to Lab Rescue because my family is finding it difficult to care for me in an environment that is so chaotic and busy. They want me to have the best chance in life so here I am embarking on a new adventure...

Medically, I am your typical healthy lab. I do suffer with occasional seasonal allergies around spring time but nothing that requires medication or treatment. 

I do have a few little quirks that will require a family that is loving, patient and calm. I'm looking for a family that has experience with training, has a large backyard where I can run and play, a quiet neighbourhood and a family that isn't gone for long hours each day.

My humans say that I have come a long way with my behaviour but I still have some learning to do. I take some medication that helps calm me so I can feel more at ease on a daily basis. I really, really love sticks and bones which can make it really hard to get them away from me. My humans will trade me for a high value item which seems to work. I have no guarding issues with food or toys those are fine to take away from me.

On leash, I am walked on a harness. At times I will bark and pull when I see another dog/person. I will require a strong handler who can teach me that I don't have to be fearful or protective. I love off leash walks and do really well with other dogs then. I have excellent recall and love the feeling of running free.

I am excellent in the house and I have to admit I am a total cuddle bug. Wherever my people are that's where you'll find me. 

I love water and will swim to my hearts content. I would love to find a home with a pool or cottage where I can burn all my puppy energy.

Do you have room in your heart for a boy like me?

Love, Roku

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • w-facebook
  • w-twitter

© Copyright 2020 Labrador Retriever Adoption Service Inc.