To adopt a lab please fill in the online application 

Contact us at info@lab-rescue.ca for questions or fill out an application to apply to adopt a lab.

 

Suklaa

Birthday/age: 3 yrs

Colour: Chocolate

Gender: Female

Weight: 60 lbs

Energy Level: High

Children: Great, older please

Dogs: No thanks

Cats: No thanks

House Skills: Good

Leash Skills: Good

Car: Good

Fetch: Loves it!

Swimming: Would love to try

 

Hi Friends,

My name is Suklaa...you may have not heard such a cool name like that before, and would you like to know something even more cool? it means CHOCOLATE  in Finnish!

 

See there is a young baby in the family so I haven't been getting all the care and exercise a young energetic girl like me needs. It has been a struggle to try and balance both a young baby and a young dog at the same time so here I am. Before I was with my owner I was badly abused and removed from that home so I am really wanting to find a home that will give me the love I deserve.

Medically, I am healthy.

Because I am a young girl I do need lots of stimulation and training. I am a girl that loves to have a job to do...so whether its going on hikes, walks, playing. I need something to do. I do have experience living with a young child but because I am so bouncy I would do best in a home with older kids.

 

I am fantastic with cats. I lived with 3 and we were such great buddies. We would cuddle by the fireplace, lay together, play together. I guess that makes up with me being not so fantastic with other pups. 

 

I am pretty good on leash and would love it if my new family was active! 

I am a typical lab and I LOVE to gobble my food. I would be a great dog to have a bowl that slows me from eating too quick! Because I love food so much its important to keep the counters clear and the garbage out of sight. Other than that I am a good girl in the home. 

I love people and get super excited to meet new friends. I even jump up to give hugs. I know I haven't had any formal training but I am a girl that is eager to learn. I am food motivated and young and I know in the right home I will grow up to be the companion I know I can be.

Do I sound like a match for you?

Foster update: 

Suklaa has settled in nicely and has made herself quite at home. She sleeps comfortably on her dog bed in our bedroom. There are a couple of behaviours that we are working on curbing, such as lunging at cars and using her teeth (gently) to get attention when she wants to play. She pulls a bit on leash but responds to correction as long as she is not distracted. Also working on short distance recall. She is very food focused and smart, so hoping we can make some progress on these issues.

 

She loves to chase a ball and will return and release it for a treat reward. Cars going close by at high speed are more of a long term issue as she still lunges and pulls when they go by. She is not upset by them if they are 20’ or more away or if moving slowly. 

 

We took her over to a friends place tonight to see how she reacts to other dogs. I would say it was a mixed reaction. There were a couple of growling and bared teeth moments when the two dogs were close together, so we kept Suklaa on leash while we visited inside. After a bit both dogs settled down but there was no direct contact between them. I would expect this to improve with regular socialization but it will likely require supervision at the beginning. 

 

She has a lot of energy and entertains herself with toys inside between outdoor adventures. She is very smart and playful and loves attention.  She’s a sweet girl and is trying hard to please. She will make a great addition to a family with dog experience who are willing to invest the time and have the patience required to establish trust.

Love, Suklaa

 

  

Sound On!

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • w-facebook
  • w-twitter

© Copyright 2020 Labrador Retriever Adoption Service Inc.